Free to Dabble

6

January 17, 2013 by empraise

ImageAfter our “immersion experience” in Germany over Christmas and the ensuing discussion, my husband and I had time to think about how we wanted to proceed with our languages used at home.  Strangely enough, neither of us have ever felt any desire to learn the “other person’s” language.  I had no warm fuzzy feelings towards German and he didn’t toward Spanish either.  However, it seemed like things may be changing for us.  A few days later, he walked in the door and surprised me by greeting me with, “¿Qué tal?”  I replied and we had a two second conversation…in SPANISH!  I was floored.  He said he has decided to learn Spanish and has started using Coffee Break Spanish during his breaks at work.  So fun!  

I had been doing some soul-searching of my own.  After New Year’s, I made the difficult decision to stop my Korean lessons.  Though I loved my teacher and fellow students, and I am gratefully using what I have learned thus far, I simply have limited free time (remember: toddler at home!) and felt that in the long-run, spending time honing my language skills in either Spanish or German would be better suited to our family.  I found I wasn’t applying myself with the Korean, wasn’t doing homework and had lost motivation…so I wanted to use my time on something that I WAS motivated to study.

That’s when I looked into Spanish lessons on Skype.  I have found and contacted two so far, but unfortunately, our time zone makes it impossible for me to have a live lesson out of Spain (at least during the time when I have a babysitter) and the other company has not replied to my request for a free trial lesson yet.  I am hoping to spend one day (two hours) a week with a native speaker resolving outstanding grammar issues and getting my questions answered.  

The other morning that the babysitter comes I plan to dabble in German.  Once I saw Monty diving in to Spanish, it made me realize that I could be free to dabble as well.  No pressure, but big returns!  The thought of being able to have even mini-conversations in one of those languages with my husband or son thrills me.  Big Man has already been using Rosetta Stone TOTALe to freshen up his German skills and so I can just start at Lesson One and work at my own pace through their curriculum.  I tried the first lesson and was pleased…definitely a new way (at least for me) to learn a language.  But with this “low pressure” learning environment, it has made it fun again!  

We are even looking into aSpanish Language School that we could attend as a family (well, mostly me, but Big Man may attend some classes while I relieve him of his duties with the Little Man) for my birthday later this year.  We shall see…delicious possibilities.

6 thoughts on “Free to Dabble

  1. 🙂 You are such an inspiration Emily! I love your blog, your passion for language, and your family!

    • empraise says:

      Thank you! I have missed seeing yall around…sounds like you are having lots of adventures of your own. I appreciate the encouragement…hope to talk more soon 🙂

  2. Cheryl says:

    You might try ispeakuspeak.com for phone conversation practice. I teach ESL for them but I think they do Spanish and other languages too.

  3. Bonne Maman says:

    So glad to hear that you have found a plan to make this work! I definitely find that Papa learns french by listening to my discussions with the children and I bet that happens in your home too so you will probably find that once you get really stuck into your German on Rosetta that you a) know more than you though and b) progress pretty quickly.

    Good luck 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to keep up with our posts!

Join 769 other followers

Life y Lenguaje

Adventures of Non-Native Speakers Raising a Multi-Lingual Child

City Slickers

From High Rise-Living to Log-Home Building: Texas Style!

Byron & Anita Vaughn

Planting Hispanic Churches - Plantando Iglesias Hispanas

