Fun with Rainbow Rice (Arroz de Colores?)

2

January 19, 2013 by empraise

Our activity for the weekend: Rainbow rice!  I’m calling it Arroz de Colores 🙂  It’s super easy and relatively inexpensive (though unfortunately it cost about 3x here compared to in the US…why is rice so expensive in a country that grows rice??)

Image

I bought a bunch of rice.  Working in batches (6 cups each batch) I dyed the rice by putting 6 cups in a ziploc bag and adding about 4 Tbsp rubbing alcohol and 20 drops of food coloring.

Image

Then SHAKE IT!!!  This would be a really fun activity to let an older child help with.  I did it while Little Man was sleeping.

Image

Once you have the color as you like it, pour into a large pan to let dry.  Repeat as many times as you want, with as many colors as you like.  I let the rice dry overnight, just to be sure it was completely dry.

Image

And, you’ve got ARROZ DE COLORES!!  Let the fun begin!Image

We especially liked burying small items: un pepinillo plástico, un coche, etc.

Image

Please forgive my Saturday Morning Hair in this picture!  We put a sheet down to catch most of it. I tried for a little bit to get him to keep the rice a dentro but realized I was being a total buzzkill.  So, I’ll reuse what I can from the sheet and vacuum the rest up.

Image

New Vocabulary for me:

Verbos

Cavar: To dig, scoop out

Enterrar: To bury (Though I think ocultar may be a better translation meaning to hide/conceal/cover)

Rastrillar: To rake

Remover: Stir, dig, rake over

Sustantivos

Embudo: funnel

Pala: shovel, spade, scoop

Rastrillo: rake

Tina: tub, vat

Now…to go clean it up!

2 thoughts on “Fun with Rainbow Rice (Arroz de Colores?)

  1. Tara says:

    I am so glad I found your blog! My daughter will be 2 next month and she has sister coming in april. My husband and i are both native english speakers. We learned spanish in our adult years and are attempting to raise our kids bilingual. We live in the states, so there are some resources available to help us out, thank goodness.

    I love how you added in the new vocabulary you learned with this activity.

    It has been a difficult road up til now…there have been days when i have reverted back to just english. My daughter can understand almost everything in both languages, though, the vocab she uses is mostly english. Now she is started to talk a lot more, i am hoping she will start using more spanish. She says vamos, papa, mama, dos, tres, cinco, banana, che che (leche), gato, ua-ua (agua)…so we are making some progress

    Thanks for sharing your journey! I am excited to read through your blog and get some inspiration and motivation to keep going!

    • empraise says:

      Hello Tara! I’m so glad you found us…welcome! So cool to hear from another non-native parent. I loved hearing your daughter’s words…so crazy to think they are “speaking” a language which you didn’t know at that age! And thanks for the feedback on the blog. I hope to keep posting things that are encouraging and helpful. Please let me know what you think and let me hear how things are going with your daughter. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to keep up with our posts!

Join 769 other followers

Life y Lenguaje

Adventures of Non-Native Speakers Raising a Multi-Lingual Child

City Slickers

From High Rise-Living to Log-Home Building: Texas Style!

Byron & Anita Vaughn

Planting Hispanic Churches - Plantando Iglesias Hispanas

