Time Marches On…

1

June 6, 2013 by empraise

Image

I haven’t written in a while as I have been busy with The Big Transition.  We are in the process of moving our lives to another city here in Korea and in the process, packing up (more of) our lives in Houston.  These next two months will be hectic, but there IS a light at the end of the tunnel.  And the good news is, by God’s grace, there are some Spanish-speakers in our new town!

Little M continues to increase his vocabulary daily.  He is mixing German, Spanish and English words but seems to understand us in any of the three.  I have put my Spanish Skype lessons on hold until we get settled in, and am considering how to balance that and possibly Korean lessons, since we will be staying in this country another 2-3 years!

Meanwhile, I have been on the hunt to find the Ravensburger “WWW” Junior books in Spanish, but it is proving to be difficult.  These books are phenomenal, especially for our little guy who is so curious and into machines/buses/etc. right now.  The flaps that pull up are great for little fingers and the vocabulary and illustrations are rich.  The Spanish publishers ELFOS carry them (Junior ¿Qué? ¿Cómo? ¿Porque?) but I can’t get them to reply to my email about how to order online.  Ravensburger also gave me the name of a Latin American publisher (Editorial Panamericana) but I haven’t had any luck with them either.   If anyone out there has any information on this….  🙂

For now, we have a few of these in German and they are Little M’s favorites!

Another funny development: Little M has picked up on his Korean-American Grandmother’s little game of “ko-ko-ko-ko-NUN!”  He touches his nose and says “ko-ko-ko-ko” and then his mouth “IP!”  Or his eyes “NUN!”  It has been over two months since they were here visiting and one day he just started doing it.  We have now been reinforcing this more and sometimes while he is riding in his carseat I’ll hear his sweet little voice in the backseat, “ko, ko, ko…ip!”  He does it to his little animals too.  Amazing the number of languages this little boy has rolling around in his head.

Image

I continue to debate whether or not I should continue with the Spanish.  Now that we are in such a non-Spanish environment for 2-3 more years, it may be a good time to phase it out.  I’m thinking about it, but not ready to make that switch yet.  The other day when he was sick in the night, I found myself comforting him in Spanish in my half-asleep delirium.  His language journey is my language journey in many ways.

One thought on “Time Marches On…

  1. Mary Beth Petr says:

    I hope you continue to blog about Little M’s language development. I was amazed at how well he could communicate using ALL his languages! and hands and eyes and…so cute, even if I am the grandmother. Keep up the talk and learning the sounds….he can always add vocabulary when he is older and is in an area where he has more accessibility to the languages he has learned…ie Spanish back in TX, German with your friends and Korean in Ulsan. Love you all.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to keep up with our posts!

Join 769 other followers

Life y Lenguaje

Adventures of Non-Native Speakers Raising a Multi-Lingual Child

City Slickers

From High Rise-Living to Log-Home Building: Texas Style!

Byron & Anita Vaughn

Planting Hispanic Churches - Plantando Iglesias Hispanas

